Cool VL Viewer forum

View unanswered posts | View active topics It is currently 2021-10-27 07:04:37



Reply to topic  [ 30 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3  Next
Region render issue after edit apperance 
Author Message

Joined: 2009-03-17 18:42:51
Posts: 4754
Reply with quote
ZaneZimer wrote:
I wonder if my particular graphics settings are contributing to the ease with which I can produced it. I'm running at slightly elevated settings with deferred rendering on, sun/moon shadows and depth of field. I'll do some testing at various settings levels to see if I notice a difference.
Since this is a race condition (i.e. a timing issue), changing settings may make it happen or not, on a totally random scheme, so these settings won't be responsible for it directly and it won't help in finding the root cause.


2020-05-25 08:25:26
Profile WWW

Joined: 2009-03-17 18:42:51
Posts: 4754
Reply with quote
Well, I did not have time to investigate too deep, but this furiously looks like an issue between the SL servers and the viewer since I cannot reproduce the bug in OpenSim. It's like if the SL sim servers were stopping to send the "interest list" updates to the viewer after you edit your avatar appearance in the latter. The odd thing is that I do not even yet figured out how the server could deduce such a thing (especially when you disable the editing appearance animation playing)...

Anyway, in today's releases (both v1.26.24.20 and v1.27.0.0) I implemented a work-around for that bug and enhanced the "Advanced" -> "Rendering" -> "Refresh visibility of objects" feature so that it can also be used manually to make all objects in FOV reappearing.
The work around code actually calls that feature after each far-TP (which include TP above the draw distance in the same sim). Yet, only the objects in the field of view of your avatar are refreshed (so you might find find missing objects when you turn your avatar around, at which point using the feature manually is necessary). A new "OcclusionPauseDuration" debug setting allows to set the amount of time (defaulting to 5 seconds) during which the object cache occlusion code will be disabled after such a far-TP (allowing all objects in FOV to reappear).

Of course, a proper fix needs to be found, but this work around will do for now...


2020-05-30 09:47:09
Profile WWW

Joined: 2016-06-19 21:33:37
Posts: 237
Location: San Francisco bay area, CA, USA
Reply with quote
Henri Beauchamp wrote:
Of course, a proper fix needs to be found, but this work around will do for now...
Thanks for looking into this and the workaround. Since I am able reproduce it consistently, if there is anything you would like me to try, I'm more than happy (even if it would require recompiling). I know how hard it can be to track down an issue when it's not consistently reproducible.


2020-05-30 19:51:37
Profile

Joined: 2009-03-17 18:42:51
Posts: 4754
Reply with quote
ZaneZimer wrote:
Since I am able reproduce it consistently, if there is anything you would like me to try, I'm more than happy (even if it would require recompiling).
I can now reproduce the issue "reliably" enough in SL, but I am interested in knowing if you would encounter it in OpenSim (not seen it happening there so far, myself). Thank you.

EDIT: in order to see the issue happening again, now that the work-around is implemented, make sure to disable the latter by setting "OcclusionPauseDuration" to 0.


2020-05-31 06:56:55
Profile WWW

Joined: 2016-06-19 21:33:37
Posts: 237
Location: San Francisco bay area, CA, USA
Reply with quote
Henri Beauchamp wrote:
I can now reproduce the issue "reliably" enough in SL, but I am interested in knowing if you would encounter it in OpenSim (not seen it happening there so far, myself). Thank you.

EDIT: in order to see the issue happening again, now that the work-around is implemented, make sure to disable the latter by setting "OcclusionPauseDuration" to 0.
I created an account for myself on the Osgrid and tried to reproduce, ensuring the workaround was disabled. Not being familiar with all the objects that should rez in a particular area, I can't say for certain, but I didn't see the behavior happening. I edited my appearance and teleported/walked around, crossed regions and objects would rez in the usual way. I will try a few more times as I figure out OpenSim.


2020-06-01 13:35:03
Profile

Joined: 2018-07-14 07:17:42
Posts: 20
Reply with quote
Still not fixed for me with 1.26.24.22. After editing appearance more then the half sim objects, parts of water and and sim ground disappear.

Setting "OcclusionPauseDuration" to 0 helps, but a teleport out of the broken scene is needed. After teleport back, the scene renders completely again.


2020-06-13 19:10:52
Profile

Joined: 2009-03-17 18:42:51
Posts: 4754
Reply with quote
Duncan Armundsen wrote:
Still not fixed for me with 1.26.24.22. After editing appearance more then the half sim objects, parts of water and and sim ground disappear.

Setting "OcclusionPauseDuration" to 0 helps, but a teleport out of the broken scene is needed. After teleport back, the scene renders completely again.

If you set it this setting to 0 (*) you disable the work around, so it is normal you have issues... Simply let it to its default value (5 seconds), and use the "Advanced" -> "Rendering" -> "Refresh visibility of objects" feature manually should it be needed (no need to TP away).

I did not have time to investigate, and since it's obviously partly a server-side issue (with the interest list mysteriously not being sent to the viewer after an appearance editing), it is not entirely under my control anyway...



(*) setting it to 0 was to *reproduce* the issue !


2020-06-13 20:52:41
Profile WWW

Joined: 2018-07-14 07:17:42
Posts: 20
Reply with quote
Oh, I am sorry, I misread the thing about OcclusionPauseDuration. But I had this issue already before setting it to 0.

I set it back to the default (5). Nothing changed, it got even worser. "Refresh visibility of objects" I tried already before and also now it doesn't do anything. Objects, parts of water and parts of the sim ground are missing. Now even a teleport out and back in doesn't help.

Last working version for me was 1.26.24.18 (except the LOD bug). I am on Arch Linux and it seems it doesn't matter if I use your ready compiled package or self compiled. Last try was with your build to be save it is not my fault with my self compiled ones.


2020-06-14 01:15:26
Profile

Joined: 2018-07-14 07:17:42
Posts: 20
Reply with quote
I tried to investigate a little bit more. After also trying with an alt and different places, it happens random. Fewer after a lot teleports and mainland, always quite after login and often on private estates.


2020-06-14 02:13:03
Profile

Joined: 2009-03-17 18:42:51
Posts: 4754
Reply with quote
Duncan Armundsen wrote:
I tried to investigate a little bit more. After also trying with an alt and different places, it happens random. Fewer after a lot teleports and mainland, always quite after login and often on private estates.

I'm not seeing this here (and I do almost always TP from mainland (my parcel) to private sims after login). In any case it is not (quite) the same bug, but may be the result of the changes I implemented to try and fix the original bug, by adopting LL's way of resetting the vertex buffers on TP instead of the one I designed myself in the past. What happens if you use "Advanced" -> "Rendering" -> "Reset vertex buffers" ?


2020-06-14 07:55:39
Profile WWW
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Reply to topic   [ 30 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3  Next

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group
Designed by ST Software.