Cool VL Viewer forum

View unanswered posts | View active topics It is currently 2022-08-13 09:43:39



Reply to topic  [ 11 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next
Virtual Memory Warnings 
Author Message

Joined: 2021-06-21 12:39:03
Posts: 18
Reply with quote
Hey there. Since about two weeks I have really big problems. I get "Running out of virtual memory" warnings and after a couple I crash bad.

I have 16gb ram and a Nvidia GForce GTX1660 (Memore 6144) Graphics Card. Something must be wrong somewhere as the Viewer was Rock solid before.

What I see is that directly after log in..all alone ..nobody aroud me the memory usage is at 99%. Then, when I switch off "Allow swapping" it goes to red with the number shown 4294926080%.

The Asus TweakII shows a VRAM usage of 19%. When I'm alone oder with a few people all is good, but when I am at a place with more than 15 people I directly getting this warning "virtual memory is critically low....." and soon after some warnings - crash...and my pc goes crazy..(e.g. then night mode gets revoked etc...)

What can it be?

The memory setting in the viewer is at 3072..

Greetz
Don


2022-04-10 02:55:53
Profile

Joined: 2009-03-17 18:42:51
Posts: 4956
Reply with quote
Perhaps a memory leak (in the graphics driver, maybe) ?... But no log, no diagnostic...

Please, follow the bug reporting rules.

As for memory warnings, if you ignore them, it is normal that the viewer ends up crashing. When you get one, you should log off as soon as possible and log back on. The warnings happen when the viewer failed to allocate a memory block (most other viewers would crash already at that point, but I added a lot of memory checks and fallback code paths in the Cool VL Viewer when it was still a 32 bits viewer, i.e. when virtual memory space fragmentation issues caused such allocation failures).

In any case, if it is only happening for the past two weeks, you should ask to yourself what you changed in your system two weeks ago... New driver version, perhaps ?

I very much doubt it is a viewer bug, but will wait for your logs before making my mind on it.


2022-04-10 06:42:03
Profile WWW

Joined: 2021-06-21 12:39:03
Posts: 18
Reply with quote
Henri Beauchamp wrote:
Perhaps a memory leak (in the graphics driver, maybe) ?... But no log, no diagnostic...

Please, follow the bug reporting rules.




Oh sorry, I will. I didn't change anything - I'm somehow the "never (not so often) change a running system" - kinda guy as I need the viewer for my shows.

Thanks for now


2022-04-10 12:54:38
Profile

Joined: 2009-03-17 18:42:51
Posts: 4956
Reply with quote
In fact, there is something I am surprised about: you mention enabling "Allow swapping", and this option is only available whenever the "Advanced" -> "Memory management" -> "Memory usage safety checks" option is itself enabled...
This option is disabled by default and was actually only intended for 32 bits viewer builds, or for systems with less than 4GB of RAM. It has not been designed to work with 64 bits systems and lots of RAM, and might actually malfunction on those (giving false warnings), especially under Windows (which system calls to check the actual available memory are largely unreliable).

If you enabled it two weeks ago, it could well explain your troubles ! Just turn it off !

I will probably remove those menu entries, since they are misleading for modern systems...

Note that turning off the checks (which were meant to forewarn the user on system with tight memory constraints before they would run into troubles) does not turn off the memory allocation failures protections/warnings, so you won't loose anything as far as the viewer stability is concerned.


2022-04-10 15:18:40
Profile WWW

Joined: 2021-06-21 12:39:03
Posts: 18
Reply with quote
Hi Henri,

thank you for your great help.

The swapping was always off, I just clicked it on to see what would happen. Then I switched it off again.

I attache a couple screenshots.. Would you guys double check if a static memory consumption of 99% is also true for you?

Thanks!!


Attachments:
Radar only 4 people.PNG
Radar only 4 people.PNG [ 10.12 KiB | Viewed 366 times ]
Memory.PNG
Memory.PNG [ 42.34 KiB | Viewed 366 times ]
FR and Memory (99%).PNG
FR and Memory (99%).PNG [ 955 Bytes | Viewed 366 times ]
2022-04-14 17:02:22
Profile

Joined: 2021-06-21 12:39:03
Posts: 18
Reply with quote
and this one


Attachments:
TUF-GTX1660 Series small.jpg
TUF-GTX1660 Series small.jpg [ 56.9 KiB | Viewed 366 times ]
2022-04-14 17:07:01
Profile

Joined: 2009-03-17 18:42:51
Posts: 4956
Reply with quote
You must turn off entirely the "Memory safety checks" option

It is bogus for 64 bits systems with over 4GB of RAM. I gutted out all that old (deprecated) code for next releases, but you get the same effect with current releases by disabling it (it IS disabled by default, and for a reason).


Attachments:
no-checks.png
no-checks.png [ 12.4 KiB | Viewed 364 times ]
2022-04-14 18:06:44
Profile WWW

Joined: 2021-06-21 12:39:03
Posts: 18
Reply with quote
Henri Beauchamp wrote:
You must turn off entirely the "Memory safety checks" option

It is bogus for 64 bits systems with over 4GB of RAM. I gutted out all that old (deprecated) code for next releases, but you get the same effect with current releases by disabling it (it IS disabled by default, and for a reason).


Thanks,,, that brought the memory back to normal behaviour. But I'm very sure that the setting was like that before the crashes and memory warnings did appear..... We'll see.. I keep you updated.

one question regarding the logs...will they be created anyhow or do I have to activate that feature?


2022-04-15 15:25:37
Profile

Joined: 2009-03-17 18:42:51
Posts: 4956
Reply with quote
DonFranko wrote:
one question regarding the logs...will they be created anyhow or do I have to activate that feature?
The logs are always produced, regardless of any debug setting value.


2022-04-15 16:57:17
Profile WWW

Joined: 2021-06-21 12:39:03
Posts: 18
Reply with quote
Henri Beauchamp wrote:
DonFranko wrote:
one question regarding the logs...will they be created anyhow or do I have to activate that feature?
The logs are always produced, regardless of any debug setting value.


okay.. good.. I try

Thanks again!


2022-04-15 21:24:00
Profile
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Reply to topic   [ 11 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group
Designed by ST Software.