Cool VL Viewer forum

View unanswered posts | View active topics It is currently 2022-11-26 14:53:37



Reply to topic  [ 30 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3  Next
Crashes with Memory Allication Failure 
Author Message

Joined: 2021-06-21 12:39:03
Posts: 72
Reply with quote
I exchanged the file in the above post


2022-10-04 10:51:01
Profile

Joined: 2009-03-17 18:42:51
Posts: 5088
Reply with quote
Extremely strange... It looks like a crash when trying to log a "Failed to allocate raw image !" warning in the image decoder, meaning it is, yet again, a memory allocation failure issue...

There is something really, really, really fishy on your system (*), and I just cannot figure out what it is ! :shock:

Just to make sure, should you have set the viewer affinity with the Windows task manager like I described before, you do have the viewer's "MatinThreadAffinity" debug setting set to its default 0 value (i.e. affinity not set by the viewer itself, which would of course conflict), right ?


(*) Maybe a rogue malware DLL... Did you scan your system for virus ?


2022-10-04 12:13:15
Profile WWW

Joined: 2021-06-21 12:39:03
Posts: 72
Reply with quote
Yes Henry, that's what I also think, something weird.

Yes, I did all what you proposed, including the affinity settings. Actually I did that already for my DAW but hadn't it done for the CV as I thought it was enough to turn the decode threads down to just one. I did that, btw, as I the CPU has gotten too high when the viewer uses more threads and that gave me crackles playing my Piano VST.

Now I've set also the affinity for the CV and I changed it from before. I have a Quad-Core SMT with 8 CPU`s shown in the Taskmanager? Maybe it was not a good idea to narrow it down to only CPU 0 instead of 0+1 for the CV and the rest for the DAW.

I observe how it will work now!

THanks a lot for the fast help always, Henri!!


2022-10-04 12:48:19
Profile

Joined: 2009-03-17 18:42:51
Posts: 5088
Reply with quote
DonFranko wrote:
Yes Henry, that's what I also think, something weird.
Did you consider reinstalling Windows from scratch (and while you are at it with the latest Windows 10, since I see you are still using the old 10586, which, AFAIK, is no more maintained by Microsoft) ?


2022-10-04 12:55:25
Profile WWW

Joined: 2021-06-21 12:39:03
Posts: 72
Reply with quote
In my About I see Version 21H1, OS build 19043.1706 - so I think that is quite recent

A fresh install of Windows I will only consider when I get an up-to-date-machine, what I hope to avoid as long as possible as I have a feeling that the industry is at the doors to get rid of the old bottle-neck and first wants to sell off the "old" stuff.. I may be wrong,..

I have a good feeling now. I thought it would have been my RAM but now I'm hoping it was the Affinity setting that caused the troubles as they to the most appeared only when I zoomed with more like 20 people or something.

This weird crash yesterday might have been also due to that.. I had that kinda crash quite often when I tp'ed somewhere and back and forth too fast, before letting the graphics rezzed again. Maybe due to the speed stepping? BTW - is it a good idea to have that within the automation.lua when using only one of the cores?


2022-10-04 13:30:28
Profile

Joined: 2009-03-17 18:42:51
Posts: 5088
Reply with quote
DonFranko wrote:
In my About I see Version 21H1, OS build 19043.1706
The About box reports: OS version: Microsoft Windows 10 64 bits v10.0 (build 10586.1706)... But it's perhaps just a quirk in how Windoze 10 reports its versions...

Quote:
Maybe due to the speed stepping?
You could disable it and see how it fares...


2022-10-04 14:27:39
Profile WWW

Joined: 2021-06-21 12:39:03
Posts: 72
Reply with quote
Henri Beauchamp wrote:
DonFranko wrote:
In my About I see Version 21H1, OS build 19043.1706
The About box reports: OS version: Microsoft Windows 10 64 bits v10.0 (build 10586.1706)... But it's perhaps just a quirk in how Windoze 10 reports its versions...
Yes, must be, as I have updates and all MS Bloat and calling deactivated and do it only when I want it ;)

Quote:
Maybe due to the speed stepping?
Quote:
You could disable it and see how it fares
I now try with these new settings. I have quite a feeling that it may have to do with the wrong affinity settings. If I still crash, disabling speed stepping would be the next try. Question: where do I disable speed stepping?


2022-10-04 22:56:58
Profile

Joined: 2011-10-07 10:39:20
Posts: 168
Reply with quote
One shot into the blue:

If you see random memory allocation errors on Windows, check the paging file.
https://learn.microsoft.com/en-us/troub ... ion-errors

You could try to see if tweaking the paging size limits as recommended there helps.


2022-10-07 17:55:13
Profile

Joined: 2021-06-21 12:39:03
Posts: 72
Reply with quote
kathrine wrote:
One shot into the blue:

If you see random memory allocation errors on Windows, check the paging file.
https://learn.microsoft.com/en-us/troub ... ion-errors

You could try to see if tweaking the paging size limits as recommended there helps.


Hi kathrine,

thank you very much for that link!

Now I'm a bit confused. I have 16GB RAM. When I go into these settings, Windows tells me that it recommends a size of 2943 MB but on that webseite Microsoft says: "Select Custom size, and then set the "Initial size" and "Maximum size" values for the paging file. We recommend that you set the initial size to 1.5 times the amount of RAM in the system." I'm no English native, so , to double-check: MS wants met to make the swap file as big as 24GB? Is that correct? How is your setting, if I may ask?


2022-10-08 16:11:06
Profile

Joined: 2009-03-17 18:42:51
Posts: 5088
Reply with quote
DonFranko wrote:
We recommend that you set the initial size to 1.5 times the amount of RAM in the system." I'm no English native, so , to double-check: MS wants met to make the swap file as big as 24GB? Is that correct? How is your setting, if I may ask?
4GB should be more than enough for a 16GB system (Windows will use 2.5GB by default on such a system). You may let Windows decide, but the advantage of setting it manually, with the same size for the "minimum" and "maximum", is precisely that you will not get allocation failures whenever Windows needs to grow and reallocate that page file. With a fixed size, the allocations will always be successful (because the page file will never be grown up or shrunken down), unless you consume (commit) more than 16GB (your RAM) - 1GB (for the OS kernel) + 4GB (your page file size) at once, which means over 19GB.


2022-10-08 16:27:23
Profile WWW
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Reply to topic   [ 30 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3  Next

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group
Designed by ST Software.