Cool VL Viewer forum

View unanswered posts | View active topics It is currently 2018-07-23 17:29:51



Reply to topic  [ 7 posts ] 
Mesh not rezzing 
Author Message

Joined: 2011-12-12 04:09:46
Posts: 70
Reply with quote
I have a mesh object, Garbage Gobler, on my region on OSGrid that doesn't rez. I've cleared the cache and went back to v1.26.20.32. That's the oldest version I have in my download directory. I logged in with Singularity and it shows. I turned off phantom while in Singularity to see how Cool VL Viewer handles that. The object is there, I can't walk through it, just not rezzed. I've gone into edit mode and drawn a box around the object but nothing happens and nothing shows in Area Search.


Attachments:
CoolVLViewerLog.zip [25.87 KiB]
Downloaded 16 times
2017-10-28 15:07:18
Profile

Joined: 2009-03-17 18:42:51
Posts: 3793
Reply with quote
Probably a bogus mesh: unlike other viewers which don't care (and usually crash as a result), the Cool VL Viewer auto-derenders such bogus objects (there are a few warnings in the log you provided, showing that you indeed had such objects around).

Try disabling "Advanced" -> "Network" -> "Auto-kill bogus objects" and see what happens...


2017-10-28 18:30:52
Profile WWW

Joined: 2011-12-12 04:09:46
Posts: 70
Reply with quote
That did it. Thanks Henri


2017-10-28 18:39:48
Profile

Joined: 2011-12-12 04:09:46
Posts: 70
Reply with quote
It's been about a year since I played around with Blender, but I must be missing something either in Blender or Cool VL Viewer. If I export the default cube in Blender to a Collada file, then upload it to Opensim, I have the same issue. As soon as I enable "Auto-kill bogus objects" my mesh cube vanishes.


2017-10-28 22:04:17
Profile

Joined: 2009-03-17 18:42:51
Posts: 3793
Reply with quote
I could reproduce the issue, which seems to be an OpenSim bug in the mesh objects upload validation: when uploaded in SL, the default Blender cube does not produce such an issue, while when uploaded in OpenSim it results in a cube where the hole max Y size number exceeds its upper limit of 0.5 (upper limit in the bogus cube is 1.0)...

I verified this was not yet again one of those undocumented OpenSim "features", but no, all other viewers also impose the same 0.5 limit for the Y hole size, including for OpenSim grids...

For next release, I implemented a workaround, ignoring that limit (and simply clamping it) with regards to the automatic derendering of bogus objects, when connected on an OpenSim grid... But OpenSim folks should correct that bug in their code (it's however probably too late for mesh objects that already have been uploaded).


2017-10-30 09:40:37
Profile WWW

Joined: 2011-12-12 04:09:46
Posts: 70
Reply with quote
Thanks Henri. I noticed that my mesh shows in Second Life and not Opensim. I'll check Mantis for any reports and file one if I don't find one.


2017-10-30 12:53:24
Profile

Joined: 2011-12-12 04:09:46
Posts: 70
Reply with quote
This has been fixed in the latest Opensim. OSgrid 0.9.1.0 (Dev) 8479658cd0: 2017-11-08


2017-11-10 02:00:22
Profile
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Reply to topic   [ 7 posts ] 

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group
Designed by ST Software.