Cool VL Viewer forum

View unanswered posts | View active topics It is currently 2024-04-24 10:38:36



Reply to topic  [ 7 posts ] 
FindSDL2 missing in 1.28.2.8 source? 
Author Message

Joined: 2016-06-19 21:33:37
Posts: 342
Location: Columbus area, OH, USA
Reply with quote
While trying to use the 1.28.2.8 sources, the following occurs and the build does not proceed:
Code:
CMake Error at cmake/LLWindow.cmake:17 (include):
  include could not find load file:

    FindSDL2
Call Stack (most recent call first):
  llappearance/CMakeLists.txt:15 (include)
I have searched for the file myself, but it seems to be missing.


2021-02-13 12:25:07
Profile

Joined: 2009-03-17 18:42:51
Posts: 5550
Reply with quote
Are you trying to build with system libraries ?...

In this case, you need to install the SDL2 development package(s). FindSDL2 is a cmake script that comes with them...


2021-02-13 14:38:46
Profile WWW

Joined: 2016-06-19 21:33:37
Posts: 342
Location: Columbus area, OH, USA
Reply with quote
Henri Beauchamp wrote:
Are you trying to build with system libraries ?...

In this case, you need to install the SDL2 development package(s). FindSDL2 is a cmake script that comes with them...
I am building with system libs and I do have SLD2 devel installed (I build something else that requires it). My distro must be missing it or it's in another package. :-/ Time to do some Googling.


2021-02-13 14:47:20
Profile

Joined: 2009-03-17 18:42:51
Posts: 5550
Reply with quote
Or just remove lines 11 to 20 (inclusive) in indra/cmake/LLWindow.cmake

I'll find a workaround for next release...


2021-02-13 14:50:28
Profile WWW

Joined: 2016-06-19 21:33:37
Posts: 342
Location: Columbus area, OH, USA
Reply with quote
Henri Beauchamp wrote:
Or just remove lines 11 to 20 (inclusive) in indra/cmake/LLWindow.cmake

I'll find a workaround for next release...
It seems that it is sufficient for me to replace line:
Code:
17     #  include(FindSDL2)
with:
Code:
18       find_package(SDL2 REQUIRED)
. I do not know if that would be sufficient as a general solution, however.


2021-02-13 15:01:12
Profile

Joined: 2009-03-17 18:42:51
Posts: 5550
Reply with quote
ZaneZimer wrote:
It seems that it is sufficient for me to replace line:
Code:
17     #  include(FindSDL2)
with:
Code:
18       find_package(SDL2 REQUIRED)
. I do not know if that would be sufficient as a general solution, however.
Nope... It just results in the build system downloading the SDL2 pre-built library... Just like the solution I gave you above. That's fine, but that's not using the SDL2 system lib...

For a proper workaround, add FindSLD2.cmake to indra/cmake/ (this is a copy of my distro's):
Code:
# Distributed under the OSI-approved BSD 3-Clause License. See accompanying
# file Copyright.txt or https://cmake.org/licensing for details.

#.rst:
# FindSDL2
# -------
#
# Locate SDL2 library
#
# This module defines
#
# ::
#
# SDL2_LIBRARY, the name of the library to link against
# SDL2_FOUND, if false, do not try to link to SDL
# SDL2_INCLUDE_DIR, where to find SDL.h
# SDL2_VERSION_STRING, human-readable string containing the version of SDL
#
#
#
# This module responds to the flag:
#
# ::
#
# SDL2_BUILDING_LIBRARY
# If this is defined, then no SDL2_main will be linked in because
# only applications need main().
# Otherwise, it is assumed you are building an application and this
# module will attempt to locate and set the proper link flags
# as part of the returned SDL2_LIBRARY variable.
#
#
#
# Don't forget to include SDLmain.h and SDLmain.m your project for the
# OS X framework based version. (Other versions link to -lSDLmain which
# this module will try to find on your behalf.) Also for OS X, this
# module will automatically add the -framework Cocoa on your behalf.
#
#
#
# Additional Note: If you see an empty SDL2_LIBRARY_TEMP in your
# configuration and no SDL2_LIBRARY, it means CMake did not find your SDL
# library (SDL.dll, libsdl.so, SDL.framework, etc). Set
# SDL2_LIBRARY_TEMP to point to your SDL library, and configure again.
# Similarly, if you see an empty SDLMAIN_LIBRARY, you should set this
# value as appropriate. These values are used to generate the final
# SDL2_LIBRARY variable, but when these values are unset, SDL2_LIBRARY
# does not get created.
#
#
#
# $SDL2DIR is an environment variable that would correspond to the
# ./configure --prefix=$SDL2DIR used in building SDL. l.e.galup 9-20-02
#
# Modified by Eric Wing. Added code to assist with automated building
# by using environmental variables and providing a more
# controlled/consistent search behavior. Added new modifications to
# recognize OS X frameworks and additional Unix paths (FreeBSD, etc).
# Also corrected the header search path to follow "proper" SDL
# guidelines. Added a search for SDLmain which is needed by some
# platforms. Added a search for threads which is needed by some
# platforms. Added needed compile switches for MinGW.
#
# On OSX, this will prefer the Framework version (if found) over others.
# People will have to manually change the cache values of SDL2_LIBRARY to
# override this selection or set the CMake environment
# CMAKE_INCLUDE_PATH to modify the search paths.
#
# Note that the header path has changed from SDL/SDL.h to just SDL.h
# This needed to change because "proper" SDL convention is #include
# "SDL.h", not <SDL/SDL.h>. This is done for portability reasons
# because not all systems place things in SDL/ (see FreeBSD).

if(NOT SDL2_DIR)
  set(SDL2_DIR "" CACHE PATH "SDL2 directory")
endif()

find_path(SDL2_INCLUDE_DIR SDL.h
  HINTS
    ENV SDL2DIR
    ${SDL2_DIR}
  PATH_SUFFIXES SDL2
                # path suffixes to search inside ENV{SDL2DIR}
                include/SDL2 include
)

if(CMAKE_SIZEOF_VOID_P EQUAL 8)
  set(VC_LIB_PATH_SUFFIX lib/x64)
else()
  set(VC_LIB_PATH_SUFFIX lib/x86)
endif()

find_library(SDL2_LIBRARY_TEMP
  NAMES SDL2
  HINTS
    ENV SDL2DIR
    ${SDL2_DIR}
  PATH_SUFFIXES lib ${VC_LIB_PATH_SUFFIX}
)

# Hide this cache variable from the user, it's an internal implementation
# detail. The documented library variable for the user is SDL2_LIBRARY
# which is derived from SDL2_LIBRARY_TEMP further below.
set_property(CACHE SDL2_LIBRARY_TEMP PROPERTY TYPE INTERNAL)

if(NOT SDL2_BUILDING_LIBRARY)
  if(NOT SDL2_INCLUDE_DIR MATCHES ".framework")
    # Non-OS X framework versions expect you to also dynamically link to
    # SDLmain. This is mainly for Windows and OS X. Other (Unix) platforms
    # seem to provide SDLmain for compatibility even though they don't
    # necessarily need it.
    find_library(SDL2MAIN_LIBRARY
      NAMES SDL2main
      HINTS
        ENV SDL2DIR
        ${SDL2_DIR}
      PATH_SUFFIXES lib ${VC_LIB_PATH_SUFFIX}
      PATHS
      /sw
      /opt/local
      /opt/csw
      /opt
    )
  endif()
endif()

# SDL may require threads on your system.
# The Apple build may not need an explicit flag because one of the
# frameworks may already provide it.
# But for non-OSX systems, I will use the CMake Threads package.
if(NOT APPLE)
  find_package(Threads)
endif()

# MinGW needs an additional link flag, -mwindows
# It's total link flags should look like -lmingw32 -lSDLmain -lSDL -mwindows
if(MINGW)
  set(MINGW32_LIBRARY mingw32 "-mwindows" CACHE STRING "link flags for MinGW")
endif()

if(SDL2_LIBRARY_TEMP)
  # For SDLmain
  if(SDL2MAIN_LIBRARY AND NOT SDL2_BUILDING_LIBRARY)
    list(FIND SDL2_LIBRARY_TEMP "${SDLMAIN_LIBRARY}" _SDL2_MAIN_INDEX)
    if(_SDL2_MAIN_INDEX EQUAL -1)
      set(SDL2_LIBRARY_TEMP "${SDLMAIN_LIBRARY}" ${SDL2_LIBRARY_TEMP})
    endif()
    unset(_SDL2_MAIN_INDEX)
  endif()

  # For OS X, SDL uses Cocoa as a backend so it must link to Cocoa.
  # CMake doesn't display the -framework Cocoa string in the UI even
  # though it actually is there if I modify a pre-used variable.
  # I think it has something to do with the CACHE STRING.
  # So I use a temporary variable until the end so I can set the
  # "real" variable in one-shot.
  if(APPLE)
    set(SDL2_LIBRARY_TEMP ${SDL2_LIBRARY_TEMP} "-framework Cocoa")
  endif()

  # For threads, as mentioned Apple doesn't need this.
  # In fact, there seems to be a problem if I used the Threads package
  # and try using this line, so I'm just skipping it entirely for OS X.
  if(NOT APPLE)
    set(SDL2_LIBRARY_TEMP ${SDL2_LIBRARY_TEMP} ${CMAKE_THREAD_LIBS_INIT})
  endif()

  # For MinGW library
  if(MINGW)
    set(SDL2_LIBRARY_TEMP ${MINGW32_LIBRARY} ${SDL2_LIBRARY_TEMP})
  endif()

  # Set the final string here so the GUI reflects the final state.
  set(SDL2_LIBRARY ${SDL2_LIBRARY_TEMP} CACHE STRING "Where the SDL Library can be found")
endif()

if(SDL2_INCLUDE_DIR AND EXISTS "${SDL2_INCLUDE_DIR}/SDL2_version.h")
  file(STRINGS "${SDL2_INCLUDE_DIR}/SDL2_version.h" SDL2_VERSION_MAJOR_LINE REGEX "^#define[ \t]+SDL2_MAJOR_VERSION[ \t]+[0-9]+$")
  file(STRINGS "${SDL2_INCLUDE_DIR}/SDL2_version.h" SDL2_VERSION_MINOR_LINE REGEX "^#define[ \t]+SDL2_MINOR_VERSION[ \t]+[0-9]+$")
  file(STRINGS "${SDL2_INCLUDE_DIR}/SDL2_version.h" SDL2_VERSION_PATCH_LINE REGEX "^#define[ \t]+SDL2_PATCHLEVEL[ \t]+[0-9]+$")
  string(REGEX REPLACE "^#define[ \t]+SDL2_MAJOR_VERSION[ \t]+([0-9]+)$" "\\1" SDL2_VERSION_MAJOR "${SDL2_VERSION_MAJOR_LINE}")
  string(REGEX REPLACE "^#define[ \t]+SDL2_MINOR_VERSION[ \t]+([0-9]+)$" "\\1" SDL2_VERSION_MINOR "${SDL2_VERSION_MINOR_LINE}")
  string(REGEX REPLACE "^#define[ \t]+SDL2_PATCHLEVEL[ \t]+([0-9]+)$" "\\1" SDL2_VERSION_PATCH "${SDL2_VERSION_PATCH_LINE}")
  set(SDL2_VERSION_STRING ${SDL2_VERSION_MAJOR}.${SDL2_VERSION_MINOR}.${SDL2_VERSION_PATCH})
  unset(SDL2_VERSION_MAJOR_LINE)
  unset(SDL2_VERSION_MINOR_LINE)
  unset(SDL2_VERSION_PATCH_LINE)
  unset(SDL2_VERSION_MAJOR)
  unset(SDL2_VERSION_MINOR)
  unset(SDL2_VERSION_PATCH)
endif()

set(SDL2_LIBRARIES ${SDL2_LIBRARY} ${SDL2MAIN_LIBRARY})
set(SDL2_INCLUDE_DIRS ${SDL2_INCLUDE_DIR})

include(FindPackageHandleStandardArgs)

FIND_PACKAGE_HANDLE_STANDARD_ARGS(SDL
                                  REQUIRED_VARS SDL2_LIBRARY SDL2_INCLUDE_DIR
                                  VERSION_VAR SDL2_VERSION_STRING)

and change the contents of indra/cmake/LLWindow.cmake for:
Code:
# -*- cmake -*-
if (LLWINDOW_CMAKE_INCLUDED)
  return()
endif (LLWINDOW_CMAKE_INCLUDED)
set (LLWINDOW_CMAKE_INCLUDED TRUE)

include(00-BuildOptions)
include(Prebuilt)

if (LINUX)
  # We do not use the system libraries for SDL1, because ours got bugs patched
  # (window resizing) and standard system libraries are most likely not...
  if (USESYSTEMLIBS AND USE_SDL2)
    set(SDL2_FIND_QUIETLY ON)
    set(SDL2_FIND_REQUIRED OFF)
    include(FindSDL2)

    # This should be done by FindSDL2.
    mark_as_advanced(
      SDLMAIN_LIBRARY
      SDL2_INCLUDE_DIR
      SDL2_LIBRARY
    )
   set (SDL_LIBRARY ${SDL2_LIBRARY})
   set (SDL_INCLUDE_DIR ${SDL2_INCLUDE_DIR})
  endif (USESYSTEMLIBS AND USE_SDL2)

  if (NOT SDL_INCLUDE_DIR)
    if (USE_SDL2)
      use_prebuilt_binary(libSDL2)
      set (SDL_LIBRARY SDL2)
    else (USE_SDL2)
      use_prebuilt_binary(libSDL1)
      set (SDL_LIBRARY SDL)
    endif (USE_SDL2)
    set (SDL_INCLUDE_DIR ${LIBS_PREBUILT_DIR}/include)
    set (SDL_FOUND "YES")
  endif (NOT SDL_INCLUDE_DIR)

  if (USE_SDL2)
    add_definitions(-DLL_SDL2=1)
  else (USE_SDL2)
    add_definitions(-DLL_SDL=1)
  endif (USE_SDL2)
  include_directories(${SDL_INCLUDE_DIR})
endif (LINUX)

set(LLWINDOW_INCLUDE_DIRS
    # Note: GL/ includes are inside llrender
    ${CMAKE_SOURCE_DIR}/llrender
    ${CMAKE_SOURCE_DIR}/llwindow
    )

set(LLWINDOW_LIBRARIES llwindow)

if (LINUX)
    list(APPEND LLWINDOW_LIBRARIES X11 )
endif (LINUX)

if (WINDOWS)
    list(APPEND LLWINDOW_LIBRARIES comdlg32 )
endif (WINDOWS)


2021-02-13 15:21:54
Profile WWW

Joined: 2016-06-19 21:33:37
Posts: 342
Location: Columbus area, OH, USA
Reply with quote
Thank you for the suggested changes. I have applied them and see in my successful build output:
Code:
-- Found SDL: /usr/lib64/libSDL2.so
and the viewer runs as expected from a quick test.


2021-02-13 16:54:37
Profile
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Reply to topic   [ 7 posts ] 

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 44 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group
Designed by ST Software.