Cool VL Viewer forum

View unanswered posts | View active topics It is currently 2024-04-16 17:53:07

Reply to topic  [ 11 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next
Huge CPU-Spikes while zooming in and out 

Hey there.
First of - I'm so glad that cool viewer is still around. I took quite a long pause from SL and was using another viewer but cool viewer is just the coolest and best performing one for my needs. Thanks!

But there is one thing that is not so good at least for me.
I'm a SL Live Musician and Singer and as I'm routing all my Live Music Setup through my DAW, using a great piano sound that is sucking on my cpu quite heavily, my old Computer is at its performance edges. I'm so happy that cool viewer is still very fast and not so heavy on cpu like the others.
But unfortunately there is one "bug" that is not so perfect for me: when I'm zooming in or out in SL or when quite some people join or move in the venues I get really really huge cpu spikes for some seconds. That is not the case with e.g. firestorm viewer.
Do you have any ideas why happens?

Beside of that I'm still in love with the Coolest Viewer :-))

Thanks in advance!
Frank

2021-06-21 18:41:23

The viewer attempts to utilize your CPU available cores at the highest level whenever it rezzes new objects and avatars (mesh fetches) and fetches and decodes the corresponding textures: when you cam around, rezzing happens and causes a CPU usage spike; this is in no way a "bug" but the desired behaviour. This ensures the fastest rezzing speed and things go much easier on the CPU once everything is rezzed.

If you want slow rezzing, you may disable or tone down several features:
  • In the "Preferences" floater, "Cool features" tab, "Miscellaneous" sub-tab, you may adjust the number of images decode threads (defaults to 0 which means auto and depends on the number of cores your CPU got). To revert to other viewers' behaviour (just one decode thread), set it to 1 and restart the viewer.